Humble Abode

I finally met Pooja, my advisor who set me up with my internship, for lunch. She is so nice and treated me to a lovely meal in a fancy hotel. It was so good. I found it funny that she was shocked I was a vegetarian though. I guess I am the only one she has seen come through the program! I guess that is one of the benefits of being in India though; there are plenty of vegetarian options when it comes to food. Later it was time for move in! I finally got to move into the apartment I am to be living in for the next 2 months and I love it! It is small but honestly it is the perfect size for me and I couldn’t have asked for anything better. Plus it has hot water and a water filter for drinking water (both great plusses to have). I still have a lot to get done in the way of paper work and getting my stay officiated by the police but I am happy to finally have a place I can move into and call my own. Plus my landlady, also named Pooja, is so sweet and even stayed the night in the apartment to make sure I was settled and knew how to use everything and get around in the area. I can tell already that I am really going to like it here.

Little kitchen buddies who whisper yummy Indian recipes to me as I cook. Not really, but I wish.

Little kitchen buddies who whisper yummy Indian recipes to me as I cook. Not really, but I wish.

Can I just rip it off its hinges and take it home with me already? Ugh, I'm in love.

Can I just rip it off its hinges and take it home with me already? Ugh, I’m in love.

More awesome door decorations.

More awesome door decorations.

I also am obsessed with the things hanging next to the doors.

I also am obsessed with the things hanging next to the doors.

Above the door.

Above the door.

Maybe it's weird but this is my favorite part of the whole apartment.

Maybe it’s weird but this is my favorite part of the whole apartment.

Door handle on the inside of the apartment with Asian lucky coins.

Door handle on the inside of the apartment with Asian lucky coins.

My landlady has a small altar right above the fridge.

My landlady has a small altar right above the fridge.

Ganesha wall hanging.

Ganesha wall hanging.

Bird nest hanging in the living room.

Bird nest hanging in the living room.

Hear no, speak no, see no monkeys.

Hear no, speak no, see no monkeys.

Sometimes I turn on the lights around this Krishna and Radha wall hanging for some nice lighting at night.

Sometimes I turn on the lights around this Krishna and Radha wall hanging for some nice lighting at night.

The little bowl of fish, little plants, and a turtle. I only wish they were real!

The little bowl of fish, little plants, and a turtle. I only wish they were real!

There are lots of hanging baubles and planters outside.

There are lots of hanging baubles and planters outside.

I live on the 5th floor so I have a pretty nice view of the area surrounding the building known as Andheri.

I live on the 5th floor so I have a pretty nice view of the area surrounding the building known as Andheri.

There is a little place for plants right outside the window. It is especially nice in the morning when all the birds come there while I am sitting drinking my tea.

There is a little place for plants right outside the window. It is especially nice in the morning when all the birds come there while I am sitting drinking my tea.

The full view once you walk in the door.

The full view once you walk in the door.

The living room and where I eat.

The living room and where I eat.

Stickers to greet you once you walk in the door.

Stickers to greet you once you walk in the door.

A puppet girl who hangs out in the bathroom.

A puppet girl who hangs out in the bathroom.

Sink area with a Finding Nemo sticker.

Sink area with a Finding Nemo sticker.

The bathroom complete with shower and thankfully a water heater (aka the weird cream colored thing up on the wall).

The bathroom complete with shower and thankfully a water heater (aka the weird cream colored thing up on the wall).

The kitchen is little, but hey so am I. It's the perfect size for me to make my breakfast in.

The kitchen is little, but hey so am I. It’s the perfect size for me to make my breakfast in.

These cool little guys are over by the window the the bedroom.

These cool little guys are over by the window of the bedroom.

My sheets are so colorful, it's so nice coming home to a bright and happy room at the end of a long day.

My sheets are so colorful, it’s so nice coming home to a bright and happy room at the end of a long day.

The backdrop above my bed.

The backdrop above my bed.

My little bedroom. I love all the colors and patterns.

My little bedroom. I love all the colors and patterns.

Leave a Reply

