Saree Shopping!

So much newness to talk about! From saree shopping to a wedding to a fashion photo shoot to an art festival needless to say I have been one busy gal. So I apologize with the lack in updates but life has just been a little too crazy to blog as of late.

Onto the first matter of business: saree shopping. For those of you who don’t know what an Indian saree is, it is a traditional dress worn by women and is composed of three parts; a petticoat, a little cropped top (also known as a choli) and the fabric itself (usually 6 meters in length). Since I was invited to accompany my internship coordinator (the one who set me up with my internship at Remanika) to a wedding this also meant I was to go saree shopping. As you can imagine I just about peed my pants at the prospect. Not only do I get to go to an Indian wedding but I get to wear a saree too?! Stop. My Indian dreams are coming true. Also, I think my secret goal in life of becoming a Bollywood star just became slightly more real…well I mean I guess I get to look the part?

So many choices!

So many choices!

The day that  was set to go shopping went painfully slow. The work hours dragged on but finally I was allowed to leave early and meet up with Pooja, the same internship coordinator who I was attending the wedding with, to go saree shopping. I went to a shop called “Silk Palace” located just one train stop before mine in Ville Parle. Literally the walls of the small store were jammed full of shelves overflowing with every color of fabric one could possibly imagine.

Searching through the saree choices was half the fun.

Searching through the saree choices was half the fun.

Pooja and I discussing color choices. I really liked that purple one with the gold and red trim.

Pooja and I discussing color choices. I really liked that purple one with the gold and red trim.

I couldn't stop smiling. Literally like a kid in a candy store at Christmas.

I couldn’t stop smiling. Literally like a kid in a candy store at Christmas.

Light pink, royal blue, lavender, white, shocking yellow, forest green, mint, red…you want the color? They have it and probably in three different types of fabric with different patterns and beading work to boot. Needless to say, as a self proclaimed indecisive shopper I was completely overwhelmed when bolt after bolt of saree cloth was placed on the counter in front of me. Wanting to stick with the authenticity of a saree I ended up deciding to stick with a traditional silk.

Thought about this one too!

Thought about this one too!

Too many choices!

Too many choices!

Finally after deciding a color I went to get measured for a blouse and of course, shop for bangles and oversized earrings which are a must for Indian wedding outfits. People in India take dressing up very seriously. For festivals and events you will see people dressed in their absolute best sparing no expense. The women take it especially seriously by having everything from head to toe decorated and adorned.

I want to bring some back home with me in every color.

I want to bring some back home with me in every color.

Taking advantage of this fact obviously I got some mehndi (aka henna) done and was completely shocked with how well it turned out, especially because after conversion rates the amount of mehndi I got cost me…wait for it…a mere 6 bucks. Yes, I kid you not. Amazing, no?

One of my hands right after I got mehndi done and when it started to dry and chip off. It got a lot darker the day after!

One of my hands right after I got mehndi done. It got a lot darker the day after!

After having a complete set of bangles, crazy earrings, and mehndi all out of the way I was so excited to get into the saree at the end of the week. Curious as to the color I got? I’ll share in the next post, so you are just going to have to be a little patient 😉

 

*Check out the saree I picked plus a bunch of pictures from the wedding I attended here.*

One thought on “Saree Shopping!

  1. Pingback: “My Big Fat Indian Wedding” Experience | Lost in Wanderlust

Leave a Reply

