Liebster Blog Award

After some time of being absent from the blog (I know, I’m a horrible person for it) I returned to find a lovely comment from Tasha at Tasha’a Travel Troves nominating me for “The Liebster Blog Award.”

liebster2

I clicked on the link and through reading I learned a lot more about Tasha as well as discovered a couple of cool new blogs, win win right? The rules are that come with the territory are as follows:

1. Post 11 random facts about myself and answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you

2. Pass the award onto 11 other blogs who have less than 200 followers and ask them 11 questions

3. You are not allowed to nominate the blog who nominated you

Seems simple enough to me, let’s get crackin!

11 Random Facts About Yours Truly…

*I have dual citizenship with Switzerland

*I am a second degree brown belt in Karate

*I have a giant single dimple on one cheek (seriously its kinda scary people…)

*My family was once a foster family for children in our area

*I have worked on an archeological dig and even dug up a human tooth, it was pretty sweet

*I have a pair of Rainbow flip flops that I have had for almost 6 years now and I refuse to toss them because they have been everywhere and back with me and are completely molded to the contours of my feet

*I am a fan of the San Jose Sharks and I am so sad that the lockout ended right before I left for India…it’s a cruel world

*When I was little I would cry if I was dressed in anything but a dress and now I think I own one that I rarely wear

*I have a scar on my finger of when I was 4 and I tried cutting mini bagels up for my mom to give her a Mother’s Day breakfast in bed. She wasn’t so excited when I handed her the plate and saw I had about a quarter of a roll of toilet paper around a bloody finger. I just felt proud that I didn’t get blood on those cinnamon raisin bagels!

*I am Scuba certified

*I am part unicorn. No joke, my Instagram and Twitter bio confirms it.

My 11 Answers to Tasha’s Questions…

  • What is your most embarrassing moment experienced during travel?

When I was younger I went on a trip with my dad to visit family in Europe. One of the places we stopped was Germany to meet up with a fellow traveling friend and go to the Neuschwanstein (aka new swanstone) Castle. This was a point in my life where I was really into photography. I mean I took pictures where ever I went. Well being the impatient child that I was, I listened to none of the rules about the tour of the castle and missed the part saying no photos. Snap happy and awe struck at such a beautiful castle, I started taking pictures of everything. Pretty soon the tour guide caught me and I got a stern talking to in front of the whole group. At one point I started to cry and my dad asked me what was wrong. I was scared that the castle tour company was going to confiscate my film and camera and kick me out of the country. My dad laughed and assured me I wouldn’t get kicked out. I can remember feeling so scared and so stupid though. I mean I guess the plus side is I got some great illegal photos! Shhhh, don’t tell the Germans though 😉

  • If you could have any travel related job in the world, what would it be?

Well considering I still am puzzled about my life direction there are a couple of options as well as a couple that lie beyond the realm of travel. I would love the be an Anthropologist/Archaeologist. I have worked on a dig before and it was definitely one of my top 10 coolest experiences. I would also love to work for National Geographic because I like writing and magazines and there basically isn’t a more bad ass magazine than Nat Geo. Lastly, it would be amazing to just get paid to travel and write/vlog about all the cool stuff I try and people I meet. I guess like a travel blogger but more in depth/professional than purely blogging for the sake of blogging.

  • What does sexiness mean to you?

*Being intelligent and well spoken *Carrying yourself well *Having a healthy mind, body, and spirit *Being alluring but not overtly available *Happiness *Confidence *Having a sense of adventure

  • What is your favourite recipe of a dish that you have personally cooked (write out the recipe for your readers to enjoy)?

Ok not going to lie, I am a self proclaimed master crepe chef and a sandwich master craftsman. I wish I could share the crepe recipe but it is at my house in this Austrian cookbook with little notes and stuff and I am not home at the moment so I will have to share at a later date. I can however tell you how to make a bomb ass sammich (thats what I call them at least).

Literally Sammiches are one of my favorite foods! Here is one I made a while back that was just incredible.

Literally Sammiches are one of my favorite foods! Here is one I made a while back that was just incredible.

Ok for the perfect sammich you need to get a sub roll and toast it. Put some shredded mexican mix cheese on top after it has gotten golden brown so it can melt a little. While the bread is toasting cut up savory marinated tofu and curry marinated seitan and fry it up in a pan. Once the sub is done toasting pile on some mustard, mayo, and my personal favorite grey poupon dijon mustard. Making sure you keep and eye on the seitan and tofu, layer your sammich with tomato, broccoli sprouts, spinach and a ton of avocado. Layer on the seitan and tofu and enjoy. In case you couldn’t tell I am a vegetarian, and one of my favorite foods is a sammich. Literally you can eat them for every meal and I dare you to try and find a more perfect food.

  • Are you a tea or coffee drinker? Why?

I love the taste of coffee but I am trying to stay away so I don’t become addicted. Plus I love a good iced tea. Nothing (aside from water, no joke, I love the stuff) is more refreshing. Also, I don’t really drink soda so it is my “fancy drink” that I get when I go to restaurants and such.

EyeNeedCaffeine

C O F F E E

  • Which generation do you belong to and what are some of your distinct characteristics noted?

Well I believe I would belong to the “Generation Y” group but I can’t comment with much accuracy on how I personally align with the definition of this group. Looking into it, I also found there is a lot of discussion around what was originally predicted of my generation and what we actually represent. So I guess I’ll have to get back to you on this one.

  • Have you ever been to a Holloween party or cosplay event? If so care to share your photo?

Yes! I love dressing up and I have been to Halloween parties and some raves where I got to dress up (so much fun!) but one of my goals is to go to the huge comicon in San Diego and dress up for it. I wouldn’t really consider myself to be what you call a full blown “nerd” per say but I do have a bit of a geeky/nerdy side to me. Here is a photo from Halloween this year where I was a Day of the Dead skeleton, I even had a skeleton print dress. Super bad ass.

Boo

Boo

  • What do you do when you need to recharge?

Plug myself into a wall socket for the night, duh.

Ok sorry for the bad pun, I actually really enjoy hikes and going to the beach. Sometimes when I am feeling super stressed or upset I will just strike out on a hike somewhere. If it is too dark or maybe I am already kinda worn out I will go for a walk or drive by the beach. There is something about the outdoors that I just love and it always soothes me. For immediate relief I go to my Ammama (aka grandma) for a good hug and some yummy food. Literally her house is a haven. It smells like roses and happiness and is tucked away behind a lush garden filled with flowers that span the entire rainbow. She always makes the yummiest food and it is always healthy and organic so I don’t have to worry about overindulging. I also just love her hugs and how she still pinches my cheeks. What can I say, I’m  a lucky gal!

I am so lucky to call a place as beautiful as this my home town. Like they say, there's no place like home.

I am so lucky to call a place as beautiful as this my home town. Like they say, there’s no place like home.

  • Can you describe the interior design of your bedroom?

I. LOVE. MY. BEDROOM. I have bamboo flooring and a high ceiling that has several windows and one alcove with ceiling height windows. At night I can see the moon and the stars from my bed when I look out of them. Plus I have a balcony which has basically been my dream since childhood ever since I heard about Romeo and Juliet and the infamous balcony scene on Wishbone (that TV show along with Bill Nye the Science Guy were my childhood). I mean not only are balconies a great place to lay out in the sun and hang with friends, I always secretly wish a prince charming of sorts will serenade me Romeo style from down below. Another great thing about my room? My squishy queen sized bed. Yep, there is a lot to love.

  • Do you have a pet? If yes what are its unique personality traits? If no, why not?

I have had so many pets before and I think at one point my family had like 13 pets including all the birds in the aviary outside. Right now though it is just down to my puppy dog Skippy (aka Skiperlypodle, Podles, and MeerMeer). He is an Aussie mix that we rescued several years back and I love him to pieces. He acts a little dumb, but he is actually super smart and learns very quickly. Often, he thinks he is a tiny lap dog and will jump up on your lap and crush you but I love him all the more for it. One thing I love doing with him is playing tag/chase, it is his favorite game. He can also be super adorable when he isn’t being naughty or rambunctious when he lays down, head between his paws. I will say his name kinda quietly and he will start to wag his tail and as his wagging slows I say it again and again until he gets super excited and runs up and licks me. If you couldn’t tell I miss this guy a ton.

SkippyPodles1

Skippy can be such a little stinker but he is cute so mostly he gets away with it.

  • Why do you blog?

Good question…I never really truly thought about this before. I guess it has started for a way for friends and family to keep up with my travels but it has turned into a personal diary/reflections as well. Writing is also something that I enjoy doing and lately in my life it has been one of the many things I loved that I let fall to the wayside. I guess this blog is not only a reflection of my travels and life but also to mark the changes I am making in life to rekindle my passions and follow what I truly love. Also, I dislike Facebook so this is my proof to the world that I haven’t completely disappeared off the face of the Earth. (Hi Mom and Dad, I’m still alive, see?)

My 11 Questions to the Nominees…

Why do you blog?

If you were an animal, what one would you be and why?

What is the coolest place you have traveled to?

If you could visit any town in any time period, where/when would that be and why?

What is your favorite sport as a player and as a spectator?

Your life is being made into a movie, who would you have play your part and what is the theme song?

You are allowed one super power, what would you pick and why?

List five words (no extra descriptions) of what describes you.

What is one of your lifelong dreams?

You are allowed to sit down and have coffee/tea with one person for two hours, who would you chose?

Share a cool image (one that you have taken or maybe someone else has) that you really enjoy and describe why it is so meaningful for you.

The 11 Blogs I Think Are Pretty Rad (in no particular order)…

I am new to blogging so some of these are new as well that I think have potential or that I recently stumbled across and want to read more of. So good job guys 🙂

1. NW6 Creative

2. New York Cliche

3. UnspunPics

4. Young On The Road

5. Red Terrain

6. Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost

7. Amasc

8. Merry To Go Around

9. Kickin’ Down the Cobblestones

10. 2 Digital Nomads

11. All Things Go

So thanks again Tasha for the nomination and I look forward to seeing more content for my blog picks!

2 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

    • Thank you, it was a fun post to do so thanks again for including me in it. Haha I definitely will, and your dogs were adorable as well! I don’t know how you were able to part with them, that must have been so difficult.

Leave a Reply

